The Time I Thought I Was Going to Die in Costa Rica

I am a huge fan of Fun Facts. Here are a few for you.
Fun Fact: The only way to get to Tortuguero, Costa Rica is by water taxi.
Fun Fact: The sun goes down at about  5:30 ish in September in Costa Rica.
Fun Fact: The last water taxi to Tortuguero leaves from Pavona at 4:30 pm so as to get there before dark.
Fun Fact: My family had no idea you couldn’t drive to Tortuguero causing us to miss the last boat of the night.

That’s right. When my family arrived in Pavona there were no hotels, it was pitch black outside despite only being 6:30 pm, and none of the workers spoke English. With the VERY little amount of Spanish we spoke between the six of us we somehow manage to get a private boat called to take us over. This was simultaneously one of the most terrifying and most exhilarating parts of our trip.

Have you ever taken a boat through the canals of a rainforest when it is pitch black outside? It’s kind of scary! Especially when you are like me and tend to think of all the worst things that could possibly happen. Like the fact that our boat driver didn’t speak English and we don’t speak Spanish, we have no idea where we are going, and have I mentioned it’s pitch black outside.

Oh my goodness we just got kidnapped.

At least that’s what my brain convinced me was happening. My brain would not shut up about how we are just naive, trusting American women who were never going to make it home because obviously were gonners. Game over.

I think I watch too much Criminal Minds.

Of course this wasn’t what happened. We made it to Tortuguero safely. There was a nice tour guide waiting to greet us on the shore to show us to our hotel. The hotel manager welcomed us with big hugs and joy that we made it. Everything was fine. We paid a ridiculous amount of money for that boat ride, but we were safe.

DSC_0614
Information boat?

The next morning we took a nice boat tour through the forest (in broad daylight). I got to see monkeys in the wild which was really the only thing I wanted out of this trip if I’m honest. Also, howler monkeys look super adorable, but sound vicious. I kind of expected a massive gorilla to come charging out at us when we heard them, but no they’re small and cute! We hiked through the forest later that day and got stung by lots of big bugs. I was not a fan of this adventure. Bugs really like me and I really dislike them. That night we witnessed a turtle laying eggs. This is possibly one of the coolest things I’ve seen in my life.

DSC_0544
Nice relaxing boat ride… Not in the middle of night.

So, despite the difficulties getting to Tortuguero, I loved being there for the day and seeing all the wildlife. Oh I just want to go back already!

Leave a Reply

